After being arrested for driving under the influence (DUI), you’re likely to feel overwhelmed and embarrassed. That’s exactly how the State of Florida wants you to feel. A DUI conviction is going to negatively impact you in a wide variety of ways. That’s one of the reasons why you need an experienced and effective DUI lawyer in Ponte Vedra with you from the beginning to help you overcome the hurdles that you’re going to encounter in the future.
When it comes to DUI laws, Florida is one of the strictest states in the country. On a first DUI with a blood alcohol concentration of between .08 and .14, there’s no question that you could be sent to jail for up to six months. A fine of up to $1,000 can be imposed, and you can expect to perform 50 hours of community service. Then, there’s the license suspension, obtaining an alcohol and drug evaluation, and successfully completing a remedial alcohol and drug education program. If your blood alcohol concentration was at .15 or above, the penalties become more severe, and an ignition interlock device must be installed on your vehicle. That makes matters considerably more expensive.
Florida only gives you 10 days to act on your driver’s license after a DUI arrest, so you must act quickly. A suspension can be challenged, so it’s important that a DUI lawyer in Ponte Vedra files your request for a formal review hearing within that 10 day period. Call Canan Law at 904-824-9402 today to arrange for a free consultation and case review of your DUI case. You can also use our easy contact form at https://www.cananlaw.com/contact/.
It’s crucial to have a quality and experienced DUI lawyer in Ponte Vedra representing you in court. Remember that you only have 10 days to request a hearing on your license. Act fast by contacting us today.