Drug possession can come with stiff penalties in New Jersey. Depending on the circumstance and the drug, you could be looking at up to five years in prison. If you’re ever arrested for this crime, the first thing you should do is seek out a drug possession lawyer Mays Landing, NJ residents trust. Experienced drug crime attorneys can provide a strong defense against prosecution.
Marijuana Possession – N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10A(4)
If you’re caught with less than 50 grams of this plant, you could be looking at six months in prison and $1,000 in fines. You could also lose your driver’s license and be required to go through drug rehabilitation. For possession of more than 50 grams, you could be facing up to 18 months in prison and $15,000 in fines.
Narcotics and Controlled Dangerous Substances Possession – N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10
These substances include cocaine, meth, acid, and other strong narcotics. A possession conviction under this statute can lead to five years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000. Additionally, loss of your license and drug rehabilitation are also distinct possibilities.
Paraphernalia – N.J.S.A. 2C:36-2
New Jersey law authorizes up to six months in prison and up to $1,000 in fines for possession of drug paraphernalia. You can also lose your license.
Drug Crime Attorneys
With a skilled defense, it’s possible to beat drug possession charges or have them reduced. Don’t hesitate to contact an experienced drug crimes attorney if you are ever arrested for possession.
Follow us on Facebook, for more updates.